Metallica announces a new album and a world tour for 2023 and 2024.

Metallica’s sudden announcement of their next album, a world for 2023 and 2024, and, most importantly, a new single, has sent the internet into a frenzy. 72 Seasons is the band’s eleventh studio album and is scheduled for release on April 14, 2023, almost seven years after 2016’s Hardwired… to Self-Destruct. The new single “Lux Aeterna” is the lead single for the announcement of the new album. It shows off Metallica’s very colorful sound and style.

Metallica performs on stage 

Similar to how Hardwired… to Self-Destruct recalled the band’s early thrash days, “Lux Aeterna” features Metallica reviving their old school sound to an even greater degree. The production quality and performances of each member are surprisingly high right off the bat. Lars Ulrich and James Hetfield really shine on Metallica’s “Lux Aeterna.” Hetfield’s vocal melodies and rhythm playing are as tight as ever, and Ulrich’s pounding drum patterns show the band’s youthful energy.

In proper “album announcement etiquette,” In support of the new album, Metallica has also planned a huge world tour for 2023 and 2024. 72 Seasons is already available for pre-order, and the band has revealed the album’s length and track listing.

  • 72 Seasons
  • Shadows Follow
  • Screaming Suicide
  • Sleepwalk My Life Away
  • You Must Burn!
  • Lux Æterna
  • Crown of Barbed Wire
  • Chasing Light
  • If Darkness Had a Son
  • Too Far Gone?
  • Room of Mirrors
  • Inamorata

Metallica’s new album consists of 12 tracks totaling 77 minutes, which is the same length and number of tracks as their previous album, Hardwired… to Self-Destruct, which was originally released as a double album. It would have been cool if they had decided to keep 72 Seasons at 72 minutes in accordance with the title. Regarding this, James Hetfield has revealed in a new press release the inspiration behind the album’s title:

“72 decades. During the first 18 years of our lives, our true or false selves are formed. The notion that our parents shaped our identities. A possible classification of the type of personality we possess. I believe the most intriguing aspect of this is the ongoing examination of these fundamental beliefs and how they influence our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is a reenactment or reaction to our formative years. Prisoners of childhood or liberating ourselves from these shackles.”

Overall, this is a very strong and promising beginning for Metallica’s upcoming album cycle. “Lux Aeterna” displays a tremendous amount of energy and charisma, making it difficult to discern the band’s age. Metallica is obviously still capable of producing old-school metal anthems, and they appear to be enjoying themselves while doing so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: